Three Doodles

Dragon
Dragon
Phoenix

 

I have discovered, left, rediscovered, abandoned, and reopened this style of drawing many times in my life and I always come back to it.  It is comfortable and familar like an old pair of jeans, an old friend and a former lover.  It soothes me and comforts me like a cup of hot water with lemon juice and honey, or a gentle touch on the arm and a fond look in the eye.  It serves me with dignity and grace and joy.  I love it and need it and it is always there when i need it.  The phoenix is both a symbol of rebirth and for me the tau siblinghood, the growth and overburn of college.  The dragon a symbol from my teenage years when my family nicknamed me Ming the Dragon.  It is a symbol of strength against adversity. 

Dragon's Eye
Dragon's Eye
Leave a Reply

