A trip to Rochester

Purple Roving and spindle
Purple Roving and spindle

I braved the winter storm and headed to Rochester this weekend.  It is not so bad as one might think.  My immediate neighborhood had 8-10 inches of snow and there were a few snowy spots on the way but it wasn’t bad.  There are no fiber shops in Syracuse and Binghampton and Rochester are the only cities nearby that do have fiber shops.  I am more familar with Rochester and actually used to work for a business whose main office was (18 years ago) just across the street from this The Village Yarn and Fiber Store in East Rochester.  I went in and actually walked past the yarns and headed to the fibers, I headed back to the main desk after only a moment.  Showed them what I thought was my pathetic first attempt and was pleased to discover my fiber was difficult to work with and that I had done okay!  The proprieters were lovely and helpful and I bought this gorgeous indigo-purple wool roving.

Leave a Reply

