Wool

I love the smell of my rovings, that particular sheep smell.  When I spin with it and later as I knit with it.  I breathe in through my nose and the smell is like fresh baked bread in that it is almost intoxicating.  I try knitting a sweater for a stuffed animal with my first attempt at drop spindle, then the thinner more springy second attempt.  I look at my first attempt on the spinning wheel, Bad Acid, and am doubtful anyone would buy anything made of such ugly yarn.  I am spinning the Raspberry Sherbert, its twist more regular and less springy, the weight more regular.  I can go for quite some time now without having to rethread it.  There is a deep satisfaction in making my own yarn.

Leave a Reply

