Holiday Yarns

Banana Soy Wool Roving
Banana Soy Wool Roving

I discovered a new store yesterday, Holiday Yarns.  I was at a quilt store here in town and the woman gave me a card for a new store in one of the disintegrating malls.  I went in yesterday and have discovered a new treasure, she sells hand dyed yarns, socks, bats, looms, spinning wheels and sheep oriented buttons, pins etc..  I bought a small ball of alpaca rovings just to try it out.  I also purchased four oz. of what she calls “Build a Bat”.  For 6$ an ounce you pick out fibers of your choice with wool as the main fiber, and while you are shopping she cards it on a drum carder and gives you your bat of mixed fibers.  I picked some gorgeous undyed soy silk and some banana fibers  to mix in.  I now have two gorgeous soft luxiourious bats of moss green rovings.  I spun off all of my hot pink rovings just so I could try out my green, oh it is so lovely to work with.

Leave a Reply

