The Everson Museum Turner to Cezanne Show

The Innocents and the Card Sharpers
The Innocents and the Card Sharpers

 

Although I liked this show I did not LOVE it.  It had some paintings in it that were familiar, some by Cezanne which made me quite happy and a couple other decent paintings.  This tiny painting by Jean-Louis Ernest Meissonier, impressed me tremendously and if you go to see just this it will be worth it.  It is small, maybe 8.5 x 11 inches.  I stood and looked at it, stepped in closer, and then again closer.  It has a meticulous attention to detail, and I especially loved the details on the clothing, the lace was absolutely intricately done.  The wrinkles in the boots fascinating, the texture of the clothing just gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

