American Doll Company Composite Petite Mamma Doll

American Doll Company Petite Composite Doll
Petite marking on Composite Doll

I have had this doll for many years.  It was my grandmothers.  She gave it to me when I was about 12 I think.  She is in pretty rough shape, her fingers are broken on her left hand and the coating is cracked more or less everywhere and peeling obviously on her head and also on her feet and the backs of her legs and arms.  She has blinking green eyes, and at one time said Mamma which is now an occaisional squeeking mew.  She is unfortunately naked because as a twelve year old I had no idea that I should save the tattered miserable dress she came with.  There is some staining on her muslin body and the wire that holds the body parts to the body is poking through in some spots.  I have done some research with a little help from my antiques consultant, J.  And I believe she is a doll called the Mamma doll from the American Doll Company.  That doll was a composite doll also and the time period is correct since my grandmother was born in 1922.  Finally the Petite marking on the back of her head fits in with the American Doll Company markings.  So here she is in her glory.  I never remember giving her a name…and I am not sure what to call her, maybe Evelyn.

6 thoughts on “American Doll Company Composite Petite Mamma Doll

  1. I bought that doll 2 months ago at a thrift store. All it had was the original head, the body, arms, and legs were new. Of course a dress. If you want I can send picture of it to you. The doll is really beautiful and i have never been interested in dolls before until i saw this one. It took me a while to find this one on the computer. I would like to have more information about it. If you have any send me an email. Thank you Rosa Moore

Leave a Reply

