Stuffed Elephant

Philip the Stuffed Elephant
Philip the Stuffed Elephant
Philip the Stuffed Elephant
Philip the Stuffed Elephant

This is Philip.  He is a stuffed elephant.  This is one of the few animals I have made with no armature, but since it was made for a small child I tried to keep safety as a priority.  He represents a new method for me of tummy construction too.  If anyone is interested please let me know.  I also avoided all beads and buttons, even though I desperately wanted to embellish him, again I was keeping the child in mind.  He stands BEAUTIFULLY by himself.  I seem to be getting better and better at this aspect.  One note is that copper is not the best armature wire, and if I use copper it has to be well wrapped.  It is too soft to withstand even the small constant weight of a standing figure.  But in this case I thickened the foot of the elephant which is tremendously sturdy once stuffed.  He is made entirely of cotton quilting fabric, DMC thread (the kind in the ball) and stuffed with polyfil.  I would really like to find a more natural stuffing.

Leave a Reply

