New socks for an old friend

Socks

I love knitting color patterns into socks.  I use these lovely size 3 bamboo needles from the Clover company.  The variegated yarn is from Hot Socks Sockenwolle, and the other yarn, I have no idea but it is good quality yarn store sock yarn.   I used a pattern book from Philosopher’s Wool to create some of the patterns but the checkerboard pattern is one I love to incorporate into my designs, whether they are are wool or if it is just printed fabric in my animals.  I personally cannot stand “check” designs in clothing but love to see it added to a pattern.  I just discovered a remaining ball of green that I though I had had when making these socks, but couldn’t find.  It was of course right on top of the other yarns in the sock yarn drawer.  Alas the socks are happy being purple with that accent of yellow, white and the variegated.  I have another pair of these socks and they are warm and comfy.  One thing I do with all of my wool socks is double knit the toe.  I do this by knitting two yarns at the same time, knitting alternating stitches which carries the yarn between each stitch thus creating a smooth inner surface and this striped outer pattern.  I knit it for one inch before beginning my decreases which makes for a good long toe surface.  I think it looks pretty, but in the end, in snow country it is all about the warmth.

2 thoughts on “New socks for an old friend

Leave a Reply

