Charm Belt

Charm Belt for my pirate costume

I made this booty belt, a charm belt for my pirate costume.  I was in the craft store when I found the thick copper chain.  I have a copper brooch that I wear with the costume and the other day Pirate came to my house with a small copper corset gun (a derringer sized pistol to place in between the girls).  The corset gun actually has movable parts a cocking mechanism and a trigger, he got it at the flea market for a dollar!  I also bought a hat with copper accents the other day at the Renaissance Festival.  So I guess copper is the ongoing theme in my costume although the dragons on my corset are red and gold (but they are dragons!)  The charms were all buy one get one free and I had a number of charms already at home.  I love charms and there are several really special ones on the belt.  For one is a small sterling silver elephant, I collect elephants which is why this one is so special to me.  There is a small silver filigree bird with a tiny charm attached to it that says freedom, which is a symbol that has has meaning to me since my divorce; birds represents freedom from the choking servitude that I bore when I was married.  There is a key which is another symbol to me, that of the steampunk tradition but it also represents the key to my heart, which in the end is love really but with the tattoo on my leg the key represents my daughter.  There is also a small pair of scissors, a representation of my sewing skills, crowns for the princess in me, a small miniature of a DaVinci painting, the artist in me, a cross in honor of the Pirate’s religion.  I am really pleased with this belt and want to find any excuse I can to wear it for other occasions!

Leave a Reply

