Tartan Acres

I play it off like I haven’t been creative at all, but I have been.  I have been knitting like crazy for the last two months.  I almost made a whole sweater before I tore it all out and am going to start again.  I have made socks, mittens, and a hat.  Today my knitting pal and I went to visit my co-worker’s alpaca farm.  It was delightful to see the animals, which are stunningly gorgeous with their giant liquid eyes, long eyelashes and thick soft wool.  We loved the Peruvian made articles of clothing that she had for sale in her shop.  She told us that the business they have done with them has greatly improved the cost of living for the whole village, that just rocks!  But in the end it was the yarn for both of us and the roving for me that drew me in.  She chose a marbled dark and light grey yarn, and I chose a gorgeous, luxuriously soft black yarn for new mittens for me.  Both of my mittens are worn enough to have big holes in them, and I realized today that my green mittens are probably 5 years old!  The purple ones less so, but they are not my favorites, they have never fit quite right.  I also bought a small bag of black roving also so soft it is indescribable.  It was a good day for the long drive and we both came away happy with our little purchases.

Leave a Reply

