Selling My Work

I am working right now to downsize and simply my life for a wide variety of reasons.  One of them is that my daughter now has her own apartment and because of that I have cleared out much furniture and dishes and even food from my cupboards.  I am also doing a great deal of work on my house this summer, with all the open space it makes deep cleaning, repainting and upgrades more reasonable.  I have repainted two rooms, cleaned the basement like a crazy person, repainted the stairs and stairway to the basement, and have three more rooms to repaint.  One of those rooms will be the main floor laundry room, which for me has never been a laundry room, but instead has been my studio.  With the help of my cousin who is a drywall contractor, I am repatching the office wall which has some  odd peeling on one corner, and a crack on one window, and patching the walls that I damaged in the studio.  I also have decided once and for all to do something I have been meaning to do for several years.  I am selling as much of my artwork as I can.

I have questions about the process.  Am I charging too little, am I charging too much.  One way I am solving this is by putting big prices on what I would consider portfolio pieces, artwork that is my favorite, or that has a deep tie to explaining my history.

My all time favorite painting this piece represents an emergence from cocoon to butterfly one of several in a series.A piece that shows how powerless I feel when my ex husbands girlfriend is in stalking mode. Which thankfully has not been as frequent this spring and early summer.
Overwhelmed….at the time I did not see what everyone else could see, that I was being used, and probably cheated on.
Another in this series, overwhelmed by supporting a full grown man who was absent mentally, physically and emotionally. But he did SAY all the right things.
The last in the series, the female figure is in the foreground, the danger is imminent, in the back on the horizon a giant sky to ground lightning bolt.
Joie de vivre and the exuberance and energy of youth. The big yellow, and I have literally a dozen or more in this series.
Inner Strength, fortitude, the love and connection to family, and the masculine energy. A magical drawing which to me, led to solidifying the man I wanted in my life, and the one I got.

 

I am a goddess, my creative ideas give me magical powers, and spiritual strength. Each work of art is a gift to my higher power. Om, shanti, om.

On day one of the sale which was open only to friends and family, I sold nine pieces!!

I also gave two away, ones I personally didn’t like much but the two young women will be helping me with some of my work and sale sitting with me when it all goes public, so I just gave them to the women.  One though after I looked at it with her, I realized how truly powerful it is, and I think it will be good for her especially because she is a young gay black woman, and it was about inequality, injustice, and intolerance, the anger that goes with it and so on.  All just words that form the shape of a strong tree.

I told the other young woman, who is an artist and talented musician, that over time you develop your own alphabet of symbols.  The tree for me has always been a symbol of strength, of solitary strength, that inner spirit that you develop that grows and becomes a living thing that sustains you and shelters you when the storms are raging.

Another symbol is the phoenix, which for me represents the continual rebirth of the self each day and each year, that potential energy that happens in the notion of every day is a new day.  It also represents the deep connection I have felt, and feel even more now, to the Tau Siblinghood, which I pledged in college.  I have made many new friends in the last year because of that connection.  And the phoenix is a symbol of all that went with pledging.

There are other symbols of course.  Maybe in a future post I will talk about some of those.

So there you have it, oh and the grand total is now at 11 pieces sold.  Awesome.

2 thoughts on “Selling My Work

Leave a Reply

