Since October of 2014

I have been on a creative hiatus for a long long time.  I have made art here and there, but the work I have done has been mediocre at best.  I decided in September to do a journal of art projects that I did with my students, just to get things going, to get my creative juices flowing again.

It has been two years of struggle, and a year of that was more or less torture, an endless waiting game of needing to get out of hell.  But if you put it all together the last six years of my life, and even before that the previous x amount of years…

Visions of Water in the Summer of 2013
Visions of Water in the Summer of 2013
Driftwood Dragon from Summer of 2013
Driftwood Dragon from Summer of 2013

I don’t even know.  This more or less all I had done in all that time (other than journal pieces and half finished this and that a challenge quilt still not done)

So i moved into this little house, with its dedicated, sunny and warm art space.  A space that was connected not just by windows but by a door to the outside.  And nothing.

Then in October I signed up for an art class, I wanted to work realistically, I doubted my skills and was interested in working in oils.

This is my first piece in acrylic

image

So this piece I will admit I got the original photo from my teacher who had it in her ipad.  Then I decided to paint the following piece which is a photo I took in Florida a few years ago.

Momma Turtle and her Babies Two
Momma Turtle and her Babies Two

I sold this piece before the paint was even dry.

Here are some other pieces I am working on.

Taken in the Adirondacks Sancho with Cairn
Taken in the Adirondacks
Sancho with Cairn
Momma and Baby Loon photo taken in summer of 2013
Momma and Baby Loon
photo taken in summer of 2013
And Then There Were Two, taken in the winter of 2008
And Then There Were Two, taken in the winter of 2008
Pink Ladies Slipper from Moose River Plains (and this piece has issues I know)
Pink Ladies Slipper from Moose River Plains (and this piece has issues I know)
Great Blue Heron taken while canoeing with Andrea
Great Blue Heron taken while canoeing with Andrea
Summer of 2013 Jeruselem Artichoke in ADK Light
Summer of 2013 Jeruselem Artichoke in ADK Light

Okay so this is where it all stands right now.  More to come.

I just pulled apart a seriously problematic canvas and stretched the frames with a new piece of muslin, and took my gesso out of the frozen garage for another day.

I am loving this work.  It is very satisfying.

One thought on “Since October of 2014

  1. Hi Meg,

    Love, love, love Mama Turtle and Her Babies. I can see why it was sold while wet. If you ever have the opportunity, take a class from Phil Parsons at Parsons Lake Studio in the Delavan Ctr., Syracuse…even if it’s just one private class ($20/2 hrs, $10/hr 9wk class). You’re a good painter now, after Phil gets his hands on you (not literally :P) you will be a fabulous painter….I can see it in your work, you have natural talent in your hands. Phil has this magical ability to teach without “teaching” and bring out the best in each of his students. Not only is he a wonderful artist but he’s also a wonderful person, and I don’t know of anyone who hasn’t shown an improvement of at least 3-4 fold in their painting because of him. His belief is to allow people to develop their own talent rather than producing carbon copies of himself. His website http://parsonslakestudio.com/ …I know I must sound like a shill, but he has transformed my drawing and painting. In my almost 50 yrs of art, I’ve never run across anyone who has his depth of knowledge, can teach (I mean really teach), and has made a decent living by making art….he’s a trifecta. If you can, give him a shot, you won’t be sorry.

    I hope you’re doing better and your back has finally healed.

    Take care, Libby

Leave a Reply

