finished artwork.

image
Bridge at Caughdenoy -complete

CAUGHDENOY

7E6BFFD4-F872-4D0D-BBF3-CD71B2D59E75(1)
Caughdenoy

I made some adjustments on the painting, I wanted the transition from the realism of the bridge to the abstraction of the trees behind it, to be less jarring.  So I brought the shore line under the bridge to a more realistic middle ground.  Next I made the color between the railings of the bridge more like the colors that were used in the background.  Finally, I added more of a dark slow shore zig zagging through the right side, while stylizing the ripples of the water, and adding light to the rapid area in the more active part of the river.

image
Backyard Complete
IMG_0984
Backyard

In Backyard, I left the realistic fuzzy area under the tree, and at the edge of the house more or less as is.  I reworked the sky so that it was more intense, choosing to ignore the large greyish brown area of trees in the background.  I intensified the blue sky in the background, and adjusted the transition of sky to land behind the tree.  The edges of the pine branches were stylized more with a jagged zig zag edge.  I made the space in between the branches of the tree more intense, focusing on creating a kind of stylized vaginal area that if you really look at trees is so obvious in the way the branches are laid out, realistically.  I tend created more of a feeling of space in the lawn by using the same technique of zig zagging backward with the color blocks.

Finally I took the bird feeders in the foreground and made completed them more realistically than the rest of the painting, with the exception of the realistic area to the left of the tree, reflecting that gorgeous Gamblim Cadmium red medium, with only a bit of Titanium White also by Gamblin and some Payne’s Grey by Williamsburg for creating value.  I believe the feeders were actually painted with Cadmium because it is an exact match in color.  And for the shining copper feeder I used a combination of Indian Red, Italian Red (Williamsburg) and Indian Yellow from Winsor and Newton (NOT my favorite) to create highlights and values.  I was impressed by how closely those colors approximated metallic copper.

 

 

Leave a Reply

