On the Easel

image
WIP Backyard Exploration # 1
image
Backyard Exploration #2
image
WIP Backyard Exploration #3
image
Brushes and Palette Knife used
image
Palette with Williamsburg Handmade Oils and Gamblin Paints

The final weeks of work before my class ends.  I have learned a lot from this class, but the most important thing that I have learned is not to take a graduate level painting class again.   I really was relegated to returning to being an undergraduate, lots of review, and after the midterm (which three weeks was spent on a tired still life) with NO extra work.  Yawn.) I insisted on being given a bit more free rein, which he interpreted as stay home one day a week and paint.  And I interpreted as I don’t have time to work with you individually.  I paid for graduate level class work and was given undergrad work.  I paid for the same attention as the other grad student and got less.  And I think he thinks I am a hack too. (Because now I do) because of some things he has said.  One that he didn’t want me using canvas from home because he didn’t want it on cheap flimsy frames.  I have been using heavy duty stretcher strips for YEARS, and the only reason I switched to canvas board, is because it is easier to store.  I have now moved on to Ampersand archival gesso board, which he claims will warp, and now I looking at bass board boxes.  At least my work is gallery ready.

Or is it?

No my framer who is an artist in his own right is only right for a certain market.  And my reclaimed frames also not gallery ready.  And if only I would find my audience.

And do a collage, six.

I did collage for two whole years, and then fabric collage.

He tosses the work to one side.  Stopping to look at only one or two.

I am Amelie melting into a splash of puddle.

I wake this morning and an idea comes to me.  I sketch it out.  Everyone is sold out of the 11″x14″ Basswood panels.

I will paint it on my stretched canvas, on heavy duty stretcher strips that I prepared a year and a half ago.

I know I have an attitude.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

