Paul Cezanne and American Abstract Artists

 

One of the first master copies I ever did was one of the incarnations of Paul Cezanne’s Mt. Saint Victoire.  During a critique the other day I was called an American Abstract artist which made me think of my inspirations throughout the years, Cezanne, the artists of The Steiglitz liniage, O’Keeffe, Hartley and Dove and how I have noticed some similarities in their paintings as shown above.  Less so with the O’Keeffe but I am sure there is one out there I have to find it, that shows direct influence of Cezanne.

These are a few favorites:

 

I am also a big fan of Henry Moore (not an American abstract artist but a defining influence) and his flowing forms and smooth lines

And and the simplified shapes and smoothness of the paint and the flowing lines of Thomas Hart Benton

Other artists her artists whom I love and have influenced me are Wassily Kandinsky, Kathe Kollwitz and Ansel Adams:

What these all have to do with each other is beyond me at the moment.  Maybe a better analyst can help me figure it out?  I would love to hear someone else’s thoughts on this.

Leave a Reply

